James Wade



James Wade boasts an impressive eight major titles, making him the second most successful player in the history of the PDC.

The Machine has won both the World Grand Prix and UK Open twice. He has also triumphed in the World Matchplay, Championship League, Premier League and The Masters – and the evidence suggests that more major glory awaits.

Wade reached the final of the British Classic when he was only 18, but his surge to darting prominence came in 2006, having switched to the PDC two years earlier. He put together a sensational run to the final of the World Matchplay, beating some established names along the way. He also hit an unprecedented three nine-dart finishes in that calendar year.

The left-hander went one better the following year as he returned to Blackpool to win the tournament. He beat Terry Jenkins in the final to claim £50000 in prize money and to become the youngest ever player to win a PDC televised major. Wade went on to make it back to back major victories when he beat Jenkins again to win the 2007 World Grand Prix in Dublin. He went on to be crowned PDC Player of the Year for 2007.

In 2008, Wade became the first player to beat a dominant Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor in the Premier League, before adding another major title to his growing collection. He beat Gary Mawson to win the UK open. Wade, from Aldershot, went on to reach a third successive World Matchplay final and also made it to the final of the Las Vegas Desert Classic, but was unable to overcome Taylor on either of those occasions.

It wasn’t long before Wade tasted televised glory again, this time winning the hugely popular Premier League in 2009 with a 13-8 victory over Mervyn King.

The following year Wade was involved in what is regarded as one of the greatest finals of all time. The Machine was attempting to defend his Premier League crown and pushed Taylor all the way but was beaten 10-8 as it took two nine-darters from The Power to deny Wade another title. He also made the final of the Grand Slam in 2010.

Wade claimed another major success in June 2011, beating Wes Newton to win the UK Open for a second time.

In 2014, Wade won a European Tour event in Gibraltar and became the second player in history to hit a nine-darter in the World Grand Prix, which is famous for its double-start format. Incredibly, his opponent Robert Thornton went on to repeat the feat in the same match.

The following month, Wade ended a three-year wait for his eighth major title when he followed up victories over Adrian Lewis and Taylor with an incredible final comeback against King to win The Masters.

‘The Machine’ trailed 9-2 in the decider but won nine of the last ten legs to seal the triumph, taking out a 135 finish in the last leg.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>



  • Nickname: The Machine
  • Date of birth: 6 April 1983
  • Home town: Aldershot
  • Darts used: 20g Unicorn James Wade
  • Walk on music: Bonkers by Dizzee Rascal
  • Major titles: World Matchplay, 2007
  • World Grand Prix, 2007 & 2010
  • UK Open, 2008 & 2011
  • Premier League, 2009
  • Championship League, 2010


2014 The Masters Champion

2014 Gibraltar Darts Trophy

2011 Speedy Hire UK Open

2010 Championship Leauge of Darts Winner

2010 Bodog.com World Grand Prix Champion

2010 Nuland Players Championship

2010 North West UK Open Winner

2009 Whyte & Mackay Premier League Champion

2008 Blue Square UK Open Champion

2007 Skybet World Grand Prix Champion

2007 Stan James World Matchplay Champion

2009 Nuland Players Championship

2009 Midlands Players Championship

2008 Scotland PDPA Championship

2008 Stan James Gibraltar PDPA Championship  

2008 William Cross Australian Pro-Am  

2007 Scotland UK Open

2007 Wales UK Open  

2007 William Cross Australian Pro Am

2007 North West UK Open

2006 JR Darts Vauxhall  

2005 Irish Masters

2003 Swiss Open

2008 Stan James World Matchplay Runner Up

2008 Whyte & Mackay Premier League Runner Up

2008 Las Vegas Desert Classic Runner Up

2006 Stan James World Matchplay Runner up

2003 England International Debut

Over 40 Open Tournament Wins

Winner of 3 Gold Medals, England Youth Team

9 Dart Leg 2008 Grand Slam of Darts

9 Dart Leg Vauxhall Singles 2006 Semi-final

9 Dart Leg PDPA Championship 2006, Hayling Island

9 Dart Leg North West UK Open 2006

2007 PDC Player of the Year

2007 PDPA Players Player of the Year

2008 PDC Young Player of the Year

2006 PDC Young Player of the Year

2002 BDO Young Player of the Year

2008 Premier League 1st Player to beat Phil "The Power" Taylor in 44
Premier League Matches

Don't Miss OutReceive updates about new products, special offers, promotions and events:Fanmail & Requests
The Official James Wade Website Privacy Policy | Copyright © James Wade Darts ltd . All rights reserved